Title Vivaldi: Concerto in G Minor, RV. 495
Instrumentation Bass Clarinet & Piano
Range Extended-range instrument not required.
Price $20
Order Now!

About the Music

The Concerto in G minor, RV 495 is one of Vivaldi's 37 bassoon concertos and one of the nine he wrote in a minor key. The original key is maintained in this transcription, placing the bass clarinet part in A minor. While a low C instrument is required for the original range, alternative passages are provided for performance on a low E-flat instrument.

This work allows for practical study of Baroque style and is an excellent choice for performance in a recital, contest, jury, or audition. Alea is pleased to add this excellent transcription by Andrew Sprung to our catalog.

About the Arranger

Andrew Sprung is principal clarinetist of the Jackson (Michigan) Symphony Orchestra, second clarinetist of the Traverse Symphony Orchestra (Traverse City, Michigan), and adjunct instructor of clarinet at Spring Arbor University and Hillsdale College. He maintains a private studio of 35+ high school, middle school, and adult amateur clarinetists and bass clarinetists.

He has performed with the Toledo Symphony Orchestra, Fort Wayne Philharmonic, Lansing Symphony Orchestra, Battle Creek Symphony Orchestra, Grand Rapids Ballet, Windsor (Canada) Symphony Orchestra, Windsor Light Music Theatre, and others. He holds a D.M.A. degree from Michigan State University, M.M. from Bowling Green State University, and B.A. from Iowa State University. He is a Selmer Paris artist.


Listen to the work in its original instrumentation!

Catalog Info Catalog #ALEA1186
Piano score: 16 pages, spiral bound
Part: 5 pages, spiral bound