Title Václav Kucera: Hidden Light (2007)
Instrumentation Bass Clarinet solo
Range Extended-range instrument required.
Price $12
Order Now!

Václav Kucera (1929-2017) was a Czech composer of international stature. After studies in Prague and Moscow, Kucera served several important roles with Czech Radio, the Union of Czech Composers, and the Czechoslovak Academy of Sciences. In 1975 he was appointed to the chair of composition at the Prague Academy of Musical Arts.

Kucera made significant contributions to the bass clarinet repertoire, largely through his collaborations with the great Czech bass clarinet & piano duo, Due Boemi di Praga. For them he wrote Duodramma (1967), Invariant (1969), Tabu (1971) and Prague Ritornelles (1986). Metathesis (1998) and this work, Hidden Light, were both dedicated to Michael Davenport.

Hidden Light is a single-movement work of about 12 minutes in duration. The composer makes frequent use of flutter-tonguing, as well as more occasional use of slap-tonguing, shouting into the instrument, and multiphonics. As is common of Kucera's works for the bass clarinet, he makes use of the instrument's full range, utilizing both the extended-range down to low C and the altissimo register. This manuscript publication allows the performer to view the composer's original notation, along with explanatory notes.

Catalog Info Catalog #ALEA1204M
Composer's manuscript reproduction
Bass Clarinet Score: 7 pages, loose-leaf to facilitate page turns